Woodalls Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Kwikee step control unit replacement?
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

> Kwikee step control unit replacement?

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
RustyFairmount

Michigan

View Profile

Posted: 05/12/10 08:58pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I am very annoyed with my coach's step malfunction. It doesn't work as advertised. I am an electrical engineer but for whatever reason I'm not permitted to talk with the knuckleheads who designed/sold the defective product. Spend a fortune on a camper, and it's the little things that still drive me nuts.

ksg5000

Oregon

View Profile

Posted: 05/12/10 12:35pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have gone through a couple of controllers - last one I got was on Ebay and I think I got it for about $65 - hit or miss thing.

Kevin

j-d

Sunny Florida USA

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 01/28/10 01:19pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I think you're past this point but let me say it as an "in case." Be sure every pivot is moving freely. The system somehow determines that it needs to shut the motor off by how much current it's drawing. In other words (and if you already know this, I apologize..) there's not a contact that says "fully extended so stop" or "fully closed so stop." Rather it says "hey, this thing should run on 10Amps but I see it drawing 20A. Must be at end of travel so I'll stop the motor..." I thought I had real problems, wouldn't retract. I lubed all the pins in the linkage and no joy. Then I noticed the bellcrank between the motor's gearbox and the top of the steps. Heard it creaking, actually. Lubed that and all's well. Folds shut better than it ever did.