Woodalls Open Roads Forum: General RVing Issues: Generator to power house
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in General RVing Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  General RVing Issues

 > Generator to power house

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 9  
Next
Sandy & Shirley

North East, MD

Senior Member

Joined: 01/02/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/14/13 12:26pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you park your RV in the driveway with a dedicated electrical outlet, has anyone ever used the outside 30 or 50 amp outlet for your RV to back-power your house with a generator during a power outage?


'02 F350 7.3PSD CC LB DRW, Reese 20K Hitch, Brake Smart, AirLift, C-betr mirrors,
'04 Everest 343L, TrailAir, RotoChoks, Wayne's stabilizer
Toys: Fold-Away Pet Carrier, Thermos Grill 2 GO
For more info, visit Our RV web site.


enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 02/14/13 12:30pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

No, and that is dangerous to backfeed in that manner.
What we have done is ran extension cords to the vital items.
To feed properly, you must disconnect the utility feed from the house. There is transfer swtyle boxes to do it properly within the requirements of the NEC. They are available at lowes, Home Depot type stores.
One thing to remember is many of the gensets only put out 120 volts.


Bud
USAF Retired
Suzuki XL7 pushing Pace Arrow



NORM WADDELL

PENSACOLA FL 32514

Senior Member

Joined: 11/16/2000

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 02/14/13 12:41pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

NEVER feed the house wiring with your generator. The house
is fed by transformers, which may receive many thousands of
volts and reduce that voltage to 220/110 volts to feed your
house. If you feed your generator voltage (220/110 volts)
into the house the transformer in the pole will INCREASE
YOUR VOLTAGE and feed thousands of volts into the lines.
A power company worker (who may be from out of the area
and unfamiliar with the system)
working those lines can be KILLED........it has happened.
DO NOT FEED HOUSE CIRCUITS WITH YOUR GENERATOR unless you
have a transfer switch to disconnect your house from the
power company lines.....and I don't consider that perfectly
safe !


L NORMAN WADDELL
30 FOOT ALLEGRO
SATURN TOAD
WIFE AND 2 DOGS SUGAR BEAR & COCO BEAR

M GO BLUE

Southgate, MI

Senior Member

Joined: 01/29/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/14/13 12:50pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

pianotuna wrote:

Hi,

Either get a transfer switch, a safety interlock switch or just use extension cords.


x2




2005 Chevy Silverado 3500 dually CC/LB Duramax/Allison
2008 Jayco Designer 35RLTS fifth wheel
Onan 5500W Marquis Gold gas generator (HGJAB - 1038D)

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/14/13 12:32pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi,

Either get a transfer switch, a safety interlock switch or just use extension cords.


Regards, Don
Full Time in a Kustom Koach Class C 28'5", 256 watts Unisolar, 875 amp hours in two battery banks 12 volt batteries, Magnum 3000 watt PSW inverter.

midnightsadie

ohio

Senior Member

Joined: 01/07/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/14/13 12:36pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

if you do it pianotuna,s way. it can be done safely.

Y-Guy

Tri-Cities, WA

Moderator

Joined: 03/04/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/14/13 01:21pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Here is a good article about using a transfer switch. Connecting your generator to your home


2007 Winnebago Sightseer 35J
2011 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Unlimited

gbopp

The Keystone State

Senior Member

Joined: 08/03/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/14/13 01:38pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Generator Interlock Kit.

boogie_4wheel

SLC, Utah

Senior Member

Joined: 09/12/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/14/13 02:14pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Just shut off the Main CB on the house panel. The size depends on the house size, but a 200A CB is common. Shut it off, now you've isolated your house from the rest of the electrical world. By doing this you do not need a transfer switch. I would (personally) do a continuity check across the main CB prior to hooking up my gen to the house, just to verify that the CB is indeed open across both legs.

By using the 30A plug in the garage as the 'supply power' point, only approximately half of the stuff in your house is going to work. This is because you are getting only one leg of 120V, not both legs. And your power usage on that 'half' is going to be limited to 30A (based on the generator CB and/or the 30A CB on the house panel). So by doing this, it may or may not feed power to your fridge/freezer, bedroom, ect. It all depends on how the CBs are stacked in the breaker panel.


2005 2500 Cummins/48RE/3.73, QCLB, 4wd, BigHorn, Edge Juice w/ CTS + Turbo Timer, ISSPro Oil and LP pressure gauges in cubby hole, GDP 20/2 filters on frame rail, Custom Diesel Steering Box Brace
'10 Forest River Shockwave Toy Hauler 21'
Honda EU3000I Genny

Dadio24

TEXAS

Senior Member

Joined: 11/19/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/14/13 01:41pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I just use an extention cord for the freezer and live in the RV till power returns.





This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 9  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  General RVing Issues

 > Generator to power house
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in General RVing Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 Woodalls | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS